CIC Webinar: Early Development Instrument (EDI): Collecting and Using Population-level Child Wellbeing Data for Action and Policy-making

Home/Webinars/CIC Webinar: Early Development Instrument (EDI): Collecting and Using Population-level Child Wellbeing Data for Action and Policy-making

CIC Webinar: Early Development Instrument (EDI): Collecting and Using Population-level Child Wellbeing Data for Action and Policy-making

$20.00

March 11, 2020

11 am PT/12 pm MT/1 pm CT/2 pm ET (75 min.)

Leading experts from Canada and the US will describe the Early Development Instrument (EDI) as a measurement tool of developmental health that offer a population-level snapshot of how children are doing across communities.

Want a discount? Become a member!
Category:

Description

EDI is a measurement tool of developmental health that offer a population-level snapshot of how children are doing across communities. Data collected on individual children and aggregated at the community level can assist in the explanation of outcomes and provide indicators for future intervention or prevention programs. This webinar will provide some background and resources on EDI, examples of successful program application in Canada, where it originated, and in the U.S., an understanding of its promise and limitations, and suggestions on how to use this tool to help inform community action, policy and program development.

Magdalena Janus has a PhD in behavioural sciences from Cambridge University and is a Professor at the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences and Offord Centre for Child Studies at McMaster University. She is a co-author, with the late Dr. Dan Offord, of the Early Development Instrument (EDI), a measure of children’s developmental health at school entry. Dr. Janus and her team led the implementation of the EDI in Canada, which now surpassed 1 million children and is a widely-used source of population-level data on early child development.

Ashley Gaskin – Ashley has worked with the EDI team for many year and has experience in most aspects of EDI implementation, analysis, and reporting. She currently works as the EDI Project Manager and oversees the provincial/territorial implementation of the EDI as well as the international collaborations.

Lisa Stanley, DrPH has worked in the maternal and child health arena for the past 25 years and has a doctoral degree in Public Health from UCLA. She is the Project Director at UCLA’s Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities for the national TECCS initiative (Transforming Early Childhood Community Systems) which uses the Early Development Instrument (EDI) as the anchor measure for local efforts to improve early childhood systems. In this role, Dr. Stanley oversees the EDI National Support Center that has provided technical assistance and a shared learning platform to over 85 communities in 15 states.