CIC Webinar: Everybody Counts: Measuring Senior Wellbeing

Home/Webinars/CIC Webinar: Everybody Counts: Measuring Senior Wellbeing

CIC Webinar: Everybody Counts: Measuring Senior Wellbeing

$20.00

January 30, 2020

11 am PT/12 pm MT/1 pm CT/2 pm ET (75 min.)

Giving visibility to a rapidly growing segment of our communities, this webinar will discuss the specific needs of an aging population and what measures to use to insure that our seniors’ wellbeing and quality of life.

Want a discount? Become a member!
Category:

Description

Older people are a rapidly growing proportion of the world’s population. The US has seen an increase of 45 percent in its senior population since 2000 while elderly citizens account for almost 30% of the population of Japan. People are living longer, but are we living better? How do we track conditions at the community level to ensure that our elderly members are not isolated, in poor health, and unable to access basic services or meet their basic needs. This webinar will identify issues specific to an aging population and will propose indicators that ensure that seniors are counted and their particular needs addressed, along with resources on how to track those indicators.

Presenters:

Laura Houghtaling Laura is an epidemiologist with nearly a decade of experience working in public health and clinical research. She began her career at Allina Health and began integrative medicine research at the Penny George Institute for Health and Healing. In 2015 she joined the Arundel Metrics team and began pursuing her PhD in Epidemiology at the University of Minnesota and continues to work with her team at Arundel Metrics on America’s Health Rankings reports.

Emily Muttillo serves as a Research Fellow at the Center for Community Solutions. Her research often focuses on issues that impact older adults and include an analysis of senior levy funding for Ohio, a needs assessment of older adults in Summit County and a deep dive into the long term care continuum in Cleveland. She previously working for the City of Cleveland Department of Aging and the Greater Cleveland Food Bank. Emily Muttillo holds a Masters of Public Administration from the Levin College of Urban Affairs at Cleveland State University.