CIC Webinar: City Types and the Drivers of Health

Home/Webinars/CIC Webinar: City Types and the Drivers of Health

CIC Webinar: City Types and the Drivers of Health

$20.00

October 22, 2020

10 am PT/11 am MT/12 pm CT/1 pm ET/2 pm AT (60 min.)

This webinar will explore which measures are most appropriate  for small and medium cities to correctly illuminate and address any additional burdens on those communities regarding poverty, inequalities or health disparities.

Registration: $20 general/ Free to CIC members

 

Want a discount? Become a member!
Category:

Description

America’s small and midsize cities face many of the same health disparities that larger cities do. Their challenges don’t get the same attention or resources, yet these cities—more than 700 of them—are home to far more people. With support from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, NYU’s City Health Dashboard researchers created the new City Types framework that categorized 719 cities – those with populations of 50,000 to 500,000 – into ten discrete City Types based on population, commuting patterns, poverty, and more. The goal is to help city leaders and their partners understand how health disparities in their communities are driven by social factors like income inequality and rent burden.  This webinar will explore the City Types framework, and the measures that went into categorizing the cities as well as those available by City Type. For more on City Types, see https://www.cityhealthdashboard.com/citytypes.

Speakers:

  • Dr. Neil Kleiman, Clinical Assistant Professor of Urban Planning and Public Service at Wagner School of Public Service and the Center for Urban Science + Progress, Senior Fellow at The GovLab, Affiliated Scholar at the Marron Institute of Urban Management
  • Becky Ofrane, Manager of Engagement & Partnerships, NYU City Health Dashboard
Go to Top